Vancouver to Build Huge Free Fan Zone & Beer Garden for FIFA Women’s World Cup

1238

Vancouver Womens World Cup

Image: City of Vancouver

Hey soccer fans: FIFA Women’s World Cup is coming to town June 6 to July 5. Vancouver along with Edmonton, Winnipeg, Ottawa, Montreal, and Moncton will be the six host cities of the tournament. A total of nine games will be played in Vancouver, including the championship final, which has been sold out for over a month. You may still be able to find World Cup tickets in the classifieds however.

B.C. Place Stadium will host two rounds of 16 games, a quarterfinal match, and five group stage meets. Group stage games will include defending champions Japan, who will play in Vancouver on at least twice, and two-time World Cup champions United States, who face Nigeria on June 16.

Although Team Canada won’t be playing any of its group stage matches in Vancouver, local soccer fans will have a chance to watch Canada’s first three games at a massive 2.7-acre fan zone that the city will set up in Larwill Park (Georgia & Cambie).

The fan zone is free and is designed to fit 5,000-6,000 people. The entire site will double as a giant beer garden, which is made possible by the provincial government’s recent reforms on liquor laws.

There will be two large video screens, live music and entertainment, food trucks, sport demos, hospitality area, and pavilions by Women’s World Cup sponsors and FIFA.

If you’re keen on spectating, here’s the game schedule:

FIFA Women’s World Cup Vancouver Fan Zone

    • Saturday, June 6 from 12 p.m. to 7 p.m. (CANADA vs. CHINA)
    • Monday, June 8 from 3 p.m. to 10 p.m.
    • Thursday, June 11 from 12 p.m. to 9 p.m. (CANADA vs. NEW ZEALAND)
    • Friday, June 12 from 3 p.m. to 10 p.m.
    • Monday, June 15 from 12 p.m. to 8 p.m. (CANADA vs. NETHERLANDS)
    • Tuesday, June 16 from 3 p.m. to 8 p.m.
    • Sunday, June 21 from 12 p.m. to 8 p.m.
    • Tuesday, June 23 from 3 p.m. to 10 p.m.
    • Saturday, June 27 from 12 p.m. to 8 p.m.
    • Wednesday, July 1 from 12 p.m. to 7 p.m.
    • Saturday, July 4 from 12 p.m. to 8 p.m.
    • Sunday, July 5 from 12 p.m. to 8 p.m. (FINAL)

Last modified: May 12, 2015

Comments are closed.